Comskip Support Forum

Comskip is a free commercial detector, browse the forum for more information
It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:41 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm
Posts: 3211
Which Comksip build are you using?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm
Posts: 14
erik wrote:
What CPU are you using?


It is running on my older laptop. It is a i5-3210M 2.5GHz with 12GB RAM running win7 64bit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm
Posts: 3211
Is the fan starting when comskip runs?
Is the CPU load 100%?
Is the disk loading 100%
Is the disk a SSD or a HDD?
What is the capacity of the disk
Can you set in your ini file
thread_count=4
Does it make a difference?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm
Posts: 14
erik wrote:
Is the fan starting when comskip runs?
Is the CPU load 100%?
Is the disk loading 100%
Is the disk a SSD or a HDD?
What is the capacity of the disk
Can you set in your ini file
thread_count=4
Does it make a difference?


Thanks.

I just looked at it while processing another file.
While at the 'Auto selecting the PID':
The CPU is at 4%, comskip is using 0.74%.
Disk loading is very low 10-20 KB/sec, the video file is not showing as being accessed in performance monitor.
The drive is an external USB3 HDD of 2TB.

I'll try the thread_count=4.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm
Posts: 3211
Can you test comskip without any commandline parameters
DRag and drop the recording on comskip.exe and check the speed


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 7:16 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm
Posts: 3211
And please set
verbose=10
and mail me the generated log file


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm
Posts: 14
erik wrote:
Can you test comskip without any commandline parameters
DRag and drop the recording on comskip.exe and check the speed


I copied comskip.exe to the video folder so that the .ini is not present.
The file got processed in a few minutes!

I will try to process the file with verbose=10 on my original comskip.ini file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:49 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm
Posts: 3211
Without ini file you get verbose=0
No log file will be generated

With verbose=10 and a slow laptop HDD extensive logging of all the error messages of faulty recordings may cause very low fps


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 1:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm
Posts: 14
erik wrote:
And please set
verbose=10
and mail me the generated log file


It seems to be 'stuck' around 0066a7f00 so I copied the log after one hour of processing and stored it there:
www.cupidonia.com/temp/Video-0.01fps.log


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm
Posts: 3211
The log file gives a clear cause of the problems you are seeing.

The recordings are severely damaged. Quality is low
As a consequence seeking to a position in the file can not be guaranteed and you should NOT start processing of the file before the recording is finished.
And you will have to set
live_tv_retries=0


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm
Posts: 14
erik wrote:
The log file gives a clear cause of the problems you are seeing.

The recordings are severely damaged. Quality is low
As a consequence seeking to a position in the file can not be guaranteed and you should NOT start processing of the file before the recording is finished.
And you will have to set
live_tv_retries=0


Ok thanks again for helping me with this.

I will retry with 'live_tv_retries=0'.

I am recording using NextPVR and a HDHomeRun device. It is possible that this channel is not always received properly depending on the weather I guess.
I did not find a tool to 'clean' or 'repair' videos before passing them to comskip. It would be nice to use one because sometimes I also get some audio glitches during playback and I am afraid it could damage my audio system.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm
Posts: 14
So far it works with your suggestions.

Thanks a lot!

I've just sent you a donation. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group