End of commercial break shortened by 25 frames?

To discuss the tuning of comskip and for posting your ini files
Post Reply
Taipan
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:39 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

End of commercial break shortened by 25 frames?

Post by Taipan »

I am using version 0.79.47 of comskip and it detects all the commercial breaks in this particular recorded program, with this result (from the "test.log" file):-

Code: Select all

	---------------------
	Initial Commercial List
	---------------------
 0)   4383	  4650	0:0:10.68
 1)  13318	 17829	0:3:0.44
 2)  27542	 31311	0:2:30.76
 3)  43177	 47322	0:2:45.80
 4)  58485	 61494	0:2:0.36
 5)  71469	 74980	0:2:20.44
 6)  81950	 82472	0:0:20.88


	---------------------
	Final Commercial List
	---------------------
1 - start:  13318	end:  17804	[     4:    10]	length: 0:3:0.44
2 - start:  27542	end:  31286	[    12:    17]	length: 0:2:30.76
3 - start:  43177	end:  47297	[    19:    24]	length: 0:2:45.80
4 - start:  58485	end:  61469	[    26:    30]	length: 0:2:0.36
5 - start:  71469	end:  74955	[    32:    37]	length: 0:2:20.44
6 - start:  81950	end:  82447	[    39:    39]	length: 0:0:20.88
The odd thing is that all the end cut points in the "Final Commercial List" are exactly 25 frames earlier than the same end points in the "Initial Commercial List". For example, cut 1 in the ICL finishes at 17829, but finishes at 17804 in the FCL. The correct cut point is the ICL one - 17829.

It looks like there is a parameter that can be set in the "comskip.ini" to automatically shorten the commercial break by 1 second, but I cannot find that parameter listed in the guides.

Or is this something new that has been introduced in this latest version?

Or, is there something else that I am doing wrong, or that I need to tweak... :?

I am using VideoReDoPlus to do the cutting, as it is able to do "frame accurate cutting" - hence this error of 1 second is important to me.
erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3370
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Post by erik »

There is indeed a new parameter called "remove_after"
I may have made an error implementing this causing the 1 second change.
Will have a look.
erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3370
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Post by erik »

Indeed, a typo, a '+' where a '*' should have been resulting in always reducing the commercials with fps frames.
Is solved in the next release.

Thanks
Taipan
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:39 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by Taipan »

Thanks Erik - your support is wonderful.... :)
Post Reply