How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

To discuss the tuning of comskip and for posting your ini files
erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by erik »

Which Comksip build are you using?

virtualpaul
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by virtualpaul »

erik wrote:What CPU are you using?
It is running on my older laptop. It is a i5-3210M 2.5GHz with 12GB RAM running win7 64bit.

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by erik »

Is the fan starting when comskip runs?
Is the CPU load 100%?
Is the disk loading 100%
Is the disk a SSD or a HDD?
What is the capacity of the disk
Can you set in your ini file
thread_count=4
Does it make a difference?

virtualpaul
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by virtualpaul »

erik wrote:Is the fan starting when comskip runs?
Is the CPU load 100%?
Is the disk loading 100%
Is the disk a SSD or a HDD?
What is the capacity of the disk
Can you set in your ini file
thread_count=4
Does it make a difference?
Thanks.

I just looked at it while processing another file.
While at the 'Auto selecting the PID':
The CPU is at 4%, comskip is using 0.74%.
Disk loading is very low 10-20 KB/sec, the video file is not showing as being accessed in performance monitor.
The drive is an external USB3 HDD of 2TB.

I'll try the thread_count=4.

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by erik »

Can you test comskip without any commandline parameters
DRag and drop the recording on comskip.exe and check the speed

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by erik »

And please set
verbose=10
and mail me the generated log file

virtualpaul
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by virtualpaul »

erik wrote:Can you test comskip without any commandline parameters
DRag and drop the recording on comskip.exe and check the speed
I copied comskip.exe to the video folder so that the .ini is not present.
The file got processed in a few minutes!

I will try to process the file with verbose=10 on my original comskip.ini file.

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by erik »

Without ini file you get verbose=0
No log file will be generated

With verbose=10 and a slow laptop HDD extensive logging of all the error messages of faulty recordings may cause very low fps

virtualpaul
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by virtualpaul »

erik wrote:And please set
verbose=10
and mail me the generated log file
It seems to be 'stuck' around 0066a7f00 so I copied the log after one hour of processing and stored it there:
www.cupidonia.com/temp/Video-0.01fps.log

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by erik »

The log file gives a clear cause of the problems you are seeing.

The recordings are severely damaged. Quality is low
As a consequence seeking to a position in the file can not be guaranteed and you should NOT start processing of the file before the recording is finished.
And you will have to set
live_tv_retries=0

virtualpaul
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by virtualpaul »

erik wrote:The log file gives a clear cause of the problems you are seeing.

The recordings are severely damaged. Quality is low
As a consequence seeking to a position in the file can not be guaranteed and you should NOT start processing of the file before the recording is finished.
And you will have to set
live_tv_retries=0
Ok thanks again for helping me with this.

I will retry with 'live_tv_retries=0'.

I am recording using NextPVR and a HDHomeRun device. It is possible that this channel is not always received properly depending on the weather I guess.
I did not find a tool to 'clean' or 'repair' videos before passing them to comskip. It would be nice to use one because sometimes I also get some audio glitches during playback and I am afraid it could damage my audio system.

virtualpaul
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Post by virtualpaul »

So far it works with your suggestions.

Thanks a lot!

I've just sent you a donation. :D

Post Reply