Comskip Support Forum
http://www.kaashoek.com/comskip/

How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.
http://www.kaashoek.com/comskip/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1894
Page 2 of 2

Author:  erik [ Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Which Comksip build are you using?

Author:  virtualpaul [ Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

erik wrote:
What CPU are you using?


It is running on my older laptop. It is a i5-3210M 2.5GHz with 12GB RAM running win7 64bit.

Author:  erik [ Mon Sep 03, 2018 5:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Is the fan starting when comskip runs?
Is the CPU load 100%?
Is the disk loading 100%
Is the disk a SSD or a HDD?
What is the capacity of the disk
Can you set in your ini file
thread_count=4
Does it make a difference?

Author:  virtualpaul [ Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

erik wrote:
Is the fan starting when comskip runs?
Is the CPU load 100%?
Is the disk loading 100%
Is the disk a SSD or a HDD?
What is the capacity of the disk
Can you set in your ini file
thread_count=4
Does it make a difference?


Thanks.

I just looked at it while processing another file.
While at the 'Auto selecting the PID':
The CPU is at 4%, comskip is using 0.74%.
Disk loading is very low 10-20 KB/sec, the video file is not showing as being accessed in performance monitor.
The drive is an external USB3 HDD of 2TB.

I'll try the thread_count=4.

Author:  erik [ Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Can you test comskip without any commandline parameters
DRag and drop the recording on comskip.exe and check the speed

Author:  erik [ Tue Sep 04, 2018 7:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

And please set
verbose=10
and mail me the generated log file

Author:  virtualpaul [ Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

erik wrote:
Can you test comskip without any commandline parameters
DRag and drop the recording on comskip.exe and check the speed


I copied comskip.exe to the video folder so that the .ini is not present.
The file got processed in a few minutes!

I will try to process the file with verbose=10 on my original comskip.ini file.

Author:  erik [ Tue Sep 04, 2018 12:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

Without ini file you get verbose=0
No log file will be generated

With verbose=10 and a slow laptop HDD extensive logging of all the error messages of faulty recordings may cause very low fps

Author:  virtualpaul [ Tue Sep 04, 2018 1:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

erik wrote:
And please set
verbose=10
and mail me the generated log file


It seems to be 'stuck' around 0066a7f00 so I copied the log after one hour of processing and stored it there:
www.cupidonia.com/temp/Video-0.01fps.log

Author:  erik [ Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

The log file gives a clear cause of the problems you are seeing.

The recordings are severely damaged. Quality is low
As a consequence seeking to a position in the file can not be guaranteed and you should NOT start processing of the file before the recording is finished.
And you will have to set
live_tv_retries=0

Author:  virtualpaul [ Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

erik wrote:
The log file gives a clear cause of the problems you are seeing.

The recordings are severely damaged. Quality is low
As a consequence seeking to a position in the file can not be guaranteed and you should NOT start processing of the file before the recording is finished.
And you will have to set
live_tv_retries=0


Ok thanks again for helping me with this.

I will retry with 'live_tv_retries=0'.

I am recording using NextPVR and a HDHomeRun device. It is possible that this channel is not always received properly depending on the weather I guess.
I did not find a tool to 'clean' or 'repair' videos before passing them to comskip. It would be nice to use one because sometimes I also get some audio glitches during playback and I am afraid it could damage my audio system.

Author:  virtualpaul [ Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to optimize comskip? I am sometimes getting 1.7FPS.

So far it works with your suggestions.

Thanks a lot!

I've just sent you a donation. :D

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/