Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

To discuss the tuning of comskip and for posting your ini files
Post Reply
michaeljc70
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:26 am

Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

Post by michaeljc70 »

Does anyone have a tuning .ini that works on Fox Business shows?

I have played around quite a bit, but with no luck. It just doesn't find any commercials. I notice the logo kind of flips around (in 1 spot, but isn't a constant image) and some, but not all, commercials have the ticker tape. I've tried the tickertape setting and played with a lot of other thresholds with no luck.
erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3365
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

Post by erik »

Please follow this post and I will help you tune

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=34
michaeljc70
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:26 am

Re: Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

Post by michaeljc70 »

Thanks for the help. I guess I have a problem even doing that. When I run comskip, I cannot go back and look at the frames. The graph is there, but when I move the red line in the timeline, all I see is black. I have tried a few files. I looked in the log and see these (along with a lot of seemingly irrelevant stuff):

unknown asf object (not loaded)unknown asf object (not loaded)unknown asf object (not loaded)cannot read one asf object
found 3 streams

......
Time at end of run:
Tue Nov 04 03:00:24 2008
################################################################
unknown asf object (not loaded)unknown asf object (not loaded)unknown asf object (not loaded)cannot read one asf object
found 3 streams
added new video stream(ID:1)
Ext stream header detected. datasize = 136
added new audio stream (codec:0x50,ID:2)
Ext stream header detected. datasize = 96
unsupported packet header
p_peek[0]&0x80 != 0x80
cannot peek while getting new packet, EOF ?
unsupported packet header
p_peek[0]&0x80 != 0x80
cannot peek while getting new packet, EOF ?
unsupported packet header
(repeated many times)


I looked on the forum and changed dvrms_live_tv_retries=2, but same issue. Basically, I can't even look to determine which frames are the commercial. Everything looks okay when comskip runs (I can see the video in the comskipgui window fine).
erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3365
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

Post by erik »

On some drv-ms files the preview in Comskip while reviewing the timeline does not work.
Can't get it to work for the moment......
You can use a trial version of Videoredo to check where the commercials are
Or use VLC or something else that plays dvr-ms
michaeljc70
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:26 am

Re: Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

Post by michaeljc70 »

I've played with it a little and am having a little better luck. I have one segment though that it won't recognize as a commercial in my test file. The only thing I see about the segment is that the "SCR" column seems to be a good indicator for it being a commercial. I looked in all the documentation I have and couldn't find out what that is or how to add more emphasis to it. So far it recognizing segments 1,2,5,6,7 as commercials. It is missing 9 and 10. I am not using any logo detection (logo is present even during commercials).

# sbf bs be fs fe sc len scr cmb ar cut bri logo vol sil corr stdev cc
0:++ 0 0 0 1 25174 0.00 839.939 0.01 0 2.00 E b 183- 0.00 2744+ 90- 0.000 18 NONE
1:-- 10 1 9 25175 26007 1.33 27.761 0.20 1 2.00 C v 729+ 0.00 3097+ 90- 0.000 72 NONE
2:-- 13 10 3 26008 28317 2.67 77.044 0.33 1 1.59 A C b 972+ 0.00 3377+ 97+ 0.000 97 NONE
3:-- 17 3 14 28318 28784 4.00 15.549 0.42 1 2.00 C S v b 2152+ 0.00 3226+ 95+ 0.000 215 NONE
4:++ 17 14 3 28785 37513 0.00 291.224 0.02 0 2.00 E b 197- 0.00 2571- 98+ 0.000 19 NONE
5:-- 5 3 2 37514 38727 1.50 40.474 0.27 0 2.00 N b 905+ 0.00 3976+ 97+ 0.000 90 NONE
6:-- 3 3 0 38728 39624 6.00 29.897 0.33 0 2.12 A S b 367+ 0.00 2116- 96+ 0.000 36 NONE
7:-- 35 1 34 39625 40557 3.00 31.098 0.23 0 2.00 S v b 615+ 0.00 1682- 90- 0.000 61 NONE
8:-+ 35 34 1 40558 50728 0.00 339.339 0.01 0 2.00 E v b 165- 0.00 1954- 89- 0.000 16 NONE
9:-+ 16 2 14 50729 54615 0.02 129.663 0.19 0 1.59 AE v 535+ 0.00 3396+ 93+ 0.000 53 NONE
10:-+ 22 14 8 54616 55088 0.00 15.749 0.18 0 2.00 6 { S v b 809+ 0.00 3355+ 93+ 0.000 80 NONE
11:-+ 9 9 0 55089 60596 0.01 183.750 0.01 0 2.00 E b 178- 0.00 2173- 88- 0.000 17 NONE

I noticed right when the break swhould occur, in the CSV file the last 2 columns have very low values also. Not sure what those columns are.
erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3365
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

Post by erik »

Segment 9 has
9:-+ 16 2 14 50729 54615 0.02 129.663 0.19 0 1.59 AE v 535+ 0.00 3396+ 93+ 0.000 53 NONE

The letters AE indicate that is has a non standard Aspect Ratio (1.59 i.s.o. 2.0) and an excess length (129.663 seconds)
You should try to have more cutpoints so segment 9 gets divided in more smaller segments or you should increase the min_show_segment_length to 250 to avoid a single commercial segment of 130 seconds to be regarded as show.
michaeljc70
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:26 am

Re: Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

Post by michaeljc70 »

erik wrote:Segment 9 has
9:-+ 16 2 14 50729 54615 0.02 129.663 0.19 0 1.59 AE v 535+ 0.00 3396+ 93+ 0.000 53 NONE

The letters AE indicate that is has a non standard Aspect Ratio (1.59 i.s.o. 2.0) and an excess length (129.663 seconds)
You should try to have more cutpoints so segment 9 gets divided in more smaller segments or you should increase the min_show_segment_length to 250 to avoid a single commercial segment of 130 seconds to be regarded as show.
Thanks- that helped. I am still getting mixed results on CNBC/FBN type shows with ticker during commercials. Adding ticker_tape=120 alone doesn't help. Playing around with brightness and a few other settings (like min_show_segment_length you suggested) helped somewhat, but if anyone else has a good working ini for these types of shows please share.

I would really like to get better at tuning myself, but the documentation (formal and forums) is pretty light. In particular, I am confused over what causes block cuts vs. what is used toward scoring commercials. I am also pretty fuzzy on how punish works and when it is appropriate to use. I can see differences in the CSV or .LOG where the commercials should be marked, but don't always no what parameter to change to get them marked (and not screw up something else).
erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3365
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Fox Business - changing logo, ticker, etc

Post by erik »

I assume you have read the very old tuning manual. I agree that it is "light".
Wish I had the time to write a new one.
But if all else fail you can always follow the "how to ask for help" topic in the support forum.
Post Reply