New VideoReDo format

Here you can ask your questions on how to use Comskip for the detection of commercials. Also questions on how to remove commercials are welcome
dlflannery
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:29 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by dlflannery »

erik wrote:No,
as both files have the same filename extension I can not write both.
Its either one or the other.
For the moment there is actually no reason to write version 3 files as the new videoredo can read version 2 files.
Hi erik.

VideoReDo is testing a major new version, V5 Beta. It will not accept the Version 2 project files. No major problem since Comskip will produce Version 3 files if you put

Code: Select all

output_videoredo3=1
in the .ini file.

However the example .ini file in the Comskip distribution doesn't include that line, although it does include:
output_videoredo=0
(i.e., without the '3'). Can I suggest you add a line for output_videoredo3 and comments indicating what version of project file each line produces. Also it would be helpful if the commenting could indicate that you can't use the command line option --videoredo when you want to generate Version 3 project files.

These changes would help clarify things for people who start using the new VRD version. Actually the ideal mod would be to allow a --videoredo3 command line option to generate Version 3 files, so no mod is required in the .ini file. Would that be possible?

Thanks

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by erik »

Good suggestions.
I'm currently traveling.
Hope to make some progress in two weeks.

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by erik »

I added the command line parameter in build 64
Can you test?

Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by Jagad »

It's a bit confusing...
So, if invoking comskip via command line outputting --videoredo3 project files, you can still use:
output_videoredo=1 ; The old videoredo format
...in the comskip.ini and don't need to activate the new ini command
output_videoredo3=1 ; The new videoredo v3 format.
...correct? Or have I misunderstood that part?

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by erik »

No
both output formats use the same file name.
Guess I should disable regular videoredo output when someone asks for videoredo3 output.
Let me change that now

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by erik »

I adapted the logic so when v3 output is requested its impossible to also have other vprj file written, even its set in the ini file
Can you download the updated build 64 and test?

dlflannery
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:29 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by dlflannery »

My testing with 81_064 donators indicates only the videoredo3 parameter in the .ini file controls the .vprj output type, i.e., the --videoredo3 command line option has no effect. I've also tried it with the videoredo and videoredo3 lines completely removed from the ini file. Only when output_videoredo3=1 is in the ini file do I get a ver. 3 .vprj file.

Otherwise the only stderr output is:
Comskip 0.81.063, made using avcodecDonator build

The 063 here was suspicious and I find if I just invoke comskip donators in a command window it also says it's 063 ???

Was the command line option change only correctly made in the free 064 version? Or did the 064 donators version not actually get updated to 064?

EDIT: The free 064 comskip.exe also says it's ver. 063
EDIT2: Same behavior with 064 free version

Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by Jagad »

VideorReDo V5 beta has been released. When trying the output_videoredo3=1 format for V5 I can only say it works barely, but sucks big time. Not a single scenemarker. My trimscript which relies on the scenemarkers wont work using this. Would it be possible to get a videoredo5 output format? If so i could look into which requirments it have?

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by erik »

Is the v3 output wrong?
or are the scene markers missing?

Can you send me some annotated examples of the v5 format?

Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by Jagad »

erik wrote:Is the v3 output wrong?
or are the scene markers missing?
Can you send me some annotated examples of the v5 format?
Hi erik!

Yes, when using comskip with videredo3 format in .ini no scenemarkers are found at all. Im a bit unsure on the videoredo5 format, but when using the Ad-scan feature in v5 the VPrj looks like this:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?><VideoReDoProject Version="5"><VideoReDoVersion BuildNumber="705">5.0.2.705 - Sep 6 2014</VideoReDoVersion>
<Filename>D:\sssss\20140407_11-49-03_Sjuan_Mannen som talar med hundar - S02E20 18.ts</Filename>
<Description></Description>
<StreamType>2</StreamType>
<Duration>40696800112</Duration>
<SyncAdjustment>0</SyncAdjustment>
<AudioVolumeAdjust>1.000000</AudioVolumeAdjust>
<TitleScreen></TitleScreen>
<CutMode>1</CutMode>
<VideoStreamPID>4130</VideoStreamPID>
<AudioStreamPID>4386</AudioStreamPID>
<SubtitlePID1>7970</SubtitlePID1>
<ProjectTime>39050400112</ProjectTime>
<CutList><cut Sequence="1" CutStart="00:04:18;11" CutEnd="00:04:44;21" Elapsed="00:04:18;11"><CutTimeStart>2584400112</CutTimeStart>
<CutTimeEnd>2848400112</CutTimeEnd>
<CutByteStart>210634069</CutByteStart>
<CutByteEnd>232112317</CutByteEnd>
</cut><cut Sequence="2" CutStart="00:16:03;09" CutEnd="00:18:21;15" Elapsed="00:15:36;24"><CutTimeStart>9633600112</CutTimeStart>
<CutTimeEnd>11016000112</CutTimeEnd>
<CutByteStart>782743449</CutByteStart>
<CutByteEnd>894953881</CutByteEnd>
</cut></CutList><SceneList><SceneMarker Sequence="1" Timecode="00:04:18;11">2584400112</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="2" Timecode="00:04:44;21">2848400112</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="3" Timecode="00:16:03;09">9633600112</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="4" Timecode="00:16:23;10">9834000112</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="5" Timecode="00:16:33;10">9934000112</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="6" Timecode="00:17:33;15">10536000112</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="7" Timecode="00:18:21;15">11016000112</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="8" Timecode="00:29:22;06">17622400112</SceneMarker>
</SceneList><ChapterList/></VideoReDoProject>

dlflannery
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:29 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by dlflannery »

erik,

Just a reminder: per my earlier post here the --videoredo3 command line option is not working in 064 -- it does not force the output of type 3 .vprj files.

dlflannery
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:29 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by dlflannery »

erik wrote:Is the v3 output wrong?
or are the scene markers missing?

Can you send me some annotated examples of the v5 format?
Following are three .vprj examples resulting from running Comskip and VideoReDo V5 Adscan on the same 4 minute .mp4 file:

First the VRD V5 AdScan output:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?><VideoReDoProject Version="5"><VideoReDoVersion BuildNumber="705">5.0.2.705 - Sep  6 2014</VideoReDoVersion>
<Filename>C:\Videos\Tools\ComSkip\TonightShowVRD-QSFmp4input.mp4</Filename>
<Description></Description>
<StreamType>4</StreamType>
<Duration>2629963445</Duration>
<SyncAdjustment>0</SyncAdjustment>
<AudioVolumeAdjust>1.000000</AudioVolumeAdjust>
<TitleScreen></TitleScreen>
<CutMode>1</CutMode>
<VideoStreamPID>513</VideoStreamPID>
<AudioStreamPID>514</AudioStreamPID>
<ProjectTime>2629963445</ProjectTime>
<CutList/><SceneList><SceneMarker Sequence="1" Timecode="00:00:13;04">131464889</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="2" Timecode="00:00:26;09">263263334</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="3" Timecode="00:00:43;02">431097889</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="4" Timecode="00:01:13;04">731398223</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="5" Timecode="00:01:43;02">1031031112</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="6" Timecode="00:02:13;04">1331331445</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="7" Timecode="00:02:43;02">1630964445</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="8" Timecode="00:02:58;02">1781114556</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="9" Timecode="00:03:28;28">2089422889</SceneMarker>
<SceneMarker Sequence="10" Timecode="00:04:00;08">2402402556</SceneMarker>
</SceneList><ChapterList/></VideoReDoProject>
Next the Comskip file with output_videoredo=1 in the .ini file (for Type 2 VRD project output):

Code: Select all

<Version>2
<Filename>C:\Videos\Tools\ComSkip\TonightShowVRD-QSFmp4input.mp4
<MPEG Stream Type>4
<Cut>0:2628292333
<SceneMarker 0>121788333
<SceneMarker 1>260927333
<SceneMarker 2>429762667
<SceneMarker 3>730062667
<SceneMarker 4>1029695333
<SceneMarker 5>1329995333
<SceneMarker 6>1629628000
<SceneMarker 7>1784115667
<SceneMarker 8>2088419667
<SceneMarker 9>2395393000
<SceneMarker 10>2628292333
Finally, the Comskip output with output_videoredo3=1 in the .ini file (output Type 3 VRD project):

Code: Select all

<VideoReDoProject Version="3">
<Filename>C:\Videos\Tools\ComSkip\TonightShowVRD-QSFmp4input.mp4</Filename><CutList>
<Cut><CutTimeStart>0</CutTimeStart> <CutTimeEnd>2628292333</CutTimeEnd> </cut>
</cutlist></VideoReDoProject>
Comments:
1. Both Comskip outputs cut the entire file, while the VRD V5 scan cuts nothing. Neither result is correct as the video contains both video and commercials.
2. The Comskip Type 3 output has no scene markers while the other two have many.
3. The VRD V5 output file does not actually require the
<VideoReDoVersion BuildNumber="705">5.0.2.705 - Sep 6 2014</VideoReDoVersion>
XML element in order to load OK into VRD V5.

Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by Jagad »

Great comparison dlflannery!
Erik and dlflannery, what do you think about the idea to rename version 1, 2, 3 videoredo VPrj formats. It's quite confusing and frankly who does really keep track of which format version is which, besides very initiated people? I think it would be more logic in renaming the VPrj formats after the Videoredo main application version and use that in comskip.ini instead.

output_videoredo3=0 ; Vprj format for VideoReDo v.3
output_videoredo4=0 ; VPrj format for VideoReDo v.4
output_videoredo5=1 ; VPrj format for VideoReDo v.5

dlflannery
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:29 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by dlflannery »

Actually it would be easier for me not to change the numbering. I can change the VAP program easily enough but there will be some users who choose to use older Comskip versions, resulting in support issues for me.

dlflannery
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 3:29 am

Re: New VideoReDo format

Post by dlflannery »

Additional info on VideoReDo-compatible project files:

1. For both type 3 (TVS4) and type 5 (TVS5) files, scene marker elements must have a TimeCode attribute, e.g.:

Code: Select all

<SceneList><SceneMarker Sequence="1" Timecode="00:00:56;00">560560112</SceneMarker>
</SceneList>
Currently comskip type 3 output files do not include this attribute. They appear to load properly in either TVS4 or TVS5 but actually the scene markers are not loaded.

2. The contents of the cutlist in either type 3 or type 5 projects are shown by this example:

Code: Select all

<CutList><cut Sequence="1" CutStart="00:00:56;00" CutEnd="00:01:04;26" Elapsed="00:00:56;00"><CutTimeStart>560560112</CutTimeStart>
<CutTimeEnd>648648112</CutTimeEnd>
<CutByteStart>110813198</CutByteStart>
<CutByteEnd>127154176</CutByteEnd>
</cut></CutList> 
I'm not sure how important the <CutByteStart> and <CutByteEnd> elements are. I tried editing them out and the resulting project file **appeared** to load correctly in TVS5 (with the correct cut).

Post Reply