Multiple files created

Here you can ask your questions on how to use Comskip for the detection of commercials. Also questions on how to remove commercials are welcome
Ken62465

Multiple files created

Post by Ken62465 »

I'm a newb using DVRMSToolbox and Comskip. Using WMC 7.

I have things working well for commercial skipping, scan accuracey less than desired but working on it. I could not help but notice the wealth of files I'm getting in both the "Recorded TV" folder and the \Public\DvrmsToolbox\CommercialsXml folder. Under WMC 7 the commercial skipping seems to be xml file dependent I believe but I have the following files extensions being created in these folders

Recorded TV
----------------
.edl
.log
.txt
.vprj
.wtv.chapters.xml
.xml

\Public\DvrmsToolbox\CommercialsXml
---------------------------
.edl
.txt
.vih
.xml

This seems right to have all these various file extensions? I did start out using ShowAnalyzer that created less files but now giving Comskip a test to compare accuracy. Not sure this is unusual or not but had multiple recording not work well at all with Comskip and tried to determine the culprit. When I disable logo detection the problem went away. I think it might be because the clock was off on my HTPC and recording were starting about 3-10 seconds into the show start and logo was instantly available. The commercial skip would scene cut 10 seconds into the recording until I disabled the logo detection on these recordings. Not tested it yet on a recording once I noticed, and fixed, the stupid clock that was off messing up my recording start times. ShowAnalyzer didn't have that problem though.

Sorry I got a bit carried away on another issue. File extension is my priority for now until i can invest more time into learning/testing.
erik
Site Admin

Re: Multiple files created

Post by erik »

you can disable all these output file by changing your comskip.ini

set verbose to 0
set
output_default=0
to remove the.txt file.