ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Here you can ask your questions on how to use Comskip for the detection of commercials. Also questions on how to remove commercials are welcome
Post Reply
marvin-miller
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:43 am

ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by marvin-miller »

Hi Erik;

I bought a pretty wild video card (nVidia) a while back and was wondering, can ComSkip use it for processing? It seems people use them for transcoding so I thought maybe it might be possible?

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by erik »

The donator version supports HW accelerated decoding but results vary.
If you are processing SD then I should not bother
Otherwise first try
lowres=10
and Comskip will automatically select the lowest resolution usable for processing.

marvin-miller
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:43 am

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by marvin-miller »

Hi Erik!

I'm using the donator version and generally it's all H.264 HD. Does this mean it will support using my video card and if so, what do I need to do to try it out?

It's an nVidia card if that matters.

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by erik »

I looked at the source and it seems the latest builds have HW decode disabled because of some weird problem (if I remember correctly)
Will have to test if the problems are gone before I can enable HW decoding again.

marvin-miller
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:43 am

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by marvin-miller »

I'd love to try it. I needed a video card so I bought this giant gaming card (I don't game) so it sits there doing nothing all day other then displaying the picture for my TV :oops: It would be neat to see it actually do some heavy lifting for a change :mrgreen:

bigb
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:34 pm

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by bigb »

Any news on this by chance?

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by erik »

No, not a high priority at the moment

bigb
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:34 pm

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by bigb »

So am I correct in that 0.81.095 has this enabled again based on 0.94 saying "HW assisted decoding is enabled again"?

I just upgraded to the latest donator one and set it back to 1 to enable and see 0 difference.
Still using 4 CPU core to decode mpeg2 HD files, setting 0 or 1 has 0 change it seems.

Thoughts?

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by erik »

Forget HW acceleration at the moment.

BrianGGG
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 4:33 am

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by BrianGGG »

This is an old thread, but I suspect that it is still true.

I don't see any difference in setting ComSkip hardware decoding on or off. Is this still deactivated in the latest builds?

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3338
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: ComSkip & Video Card Processing ?

Post by erik »

Correct, too many problems in latest builds, working on it right now

Post Reply