Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Here you can ask your questions on how to use Comskip for the detection of commercials. Also questions on how to remove commercials are welcome
Post Reply
Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by Jagad »

Hi!

Sometimes Comskip confuses the audio pid with the teletext pid in VPrj output. Here is an example:
<Version>2
<Filename>D:\TV\Recording Service\20111206_22-04-01_Kanal 9_Top gear.ts
<VideoStreamPID>4100
<AudioStreamPID>7940
<Cut>0:882000000
<Cut>7745600000:12062800000
<Cut>25404400000:29421200000
The teletext pid is in fact 7940 and the audio pid for this file is 4356 (MPEG Audio). Consequence of this behaviour is when Videoredo edits out the commercials there is no sound and Videoredo tries to recode. VRD always ends with a crash in the end of the editing session. I have no idea what is triggering this error of Comskip and why it only happens sporadic. How to get Comskip to pick and identify the Audio PID in 100% of the cases? Now it is like a 50-50 game :(

Regards
Jagad

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3343
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by erik »

Is that with the latest builds? (0.81.019 or later?)

Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Re: Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by Jagad »

erik wrote:Is that with the latest builds? (0.81.019 or later?)
Well, i did notice this issue with the earlier Comskip version (donators) i used v.80.040 as well. I upgraded to v.81.019 a couple of weeks ago hoping it would go better, but to no avail. There is definitely something strange going on. I will save a recording example where Comskip fails detecting the Audio PID and instead chooses the Teletext PID, if you want to examine it.

Regards
Jagad

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3343
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by erik »

I would welcome a 50MByte max example of such a recording.
When available notify me and I will send you the FTP upload details.

Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Re: Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by Jagad »

Unfortunately, i ran into trouble! The problem causing Comskip to retrieve the wrong audioPID disappears when trying to cutting out a 50Mb file with Videoredo. It seems VRD rewrites the PMT and that clears the problem as far as Comskip is concerned. Comskip detects the audio PID correctly on it, but not on the original recording (2,3 GByte).

nate
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:37 am

Re: Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by nate »

Hi Jagad,
Jagad wrote:The problem causing Comskip to retrieve the wrong audioPID disappears when trying to cutting out a 50Mb file with Videoredo.
When I was writing TSNowAndNext I wrote a really simple app for coping a range of bytes out of a ts file so that I could test with smaller files. You could give that a go instead of Videoredo.

http://nate.dynalias.net/dev/cutfile.rails

nate

Image

Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Re: Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by Jagad »

Hi nate!

Far out...it worked perfect cutting down the .ts with your execellent tool and preserve the PMT PID problem. Very nifty tool and it will come in handy for me many times in the future.
Many thanks :D

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3343
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by erik »

I am too stupid to see the problem.
Have a look at the ftp folder you created.
tested with build 0.81.021
Comskip seems to select the same audio PID as videoredo and also puts it in the vprj file.

Jagad
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:37 am

Re: Comskip PID confusion in VPrj.files

Post by Jagad »

Yes, you are right! V.81.021 detects the correct audioPID and v.81.019 also. Didn't try v.81.019 on this particular .ts before posting this thread, cuz when i did it on an another .ts earlier i got the same error using the very same version. V.80.040 (which i reverted to up to now) reproduces the error very often. Hmm, seems this could be much more tricky than anticipated. I'll have to test the latest Comskip version more thorough. I'll let you know if i encounter anything.

Thanks for taking your time with this!

Regards
Jagad

Post Reply