Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Here you can ask your questions on how to use Comskip for the detection of commercials. Also questions on how to remove commercials are welcome
abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:44 pm

Will comskip run on this type of server?

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by erik » Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:01 pm

Can't think of any reason why not.
It just a 32 bit console application doing very basic file IO with a bit of multi threading.
Just take the free version and let it process a video file.

abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:33 pm

How much bandwidth does comskip need? Thinking about doing this through my network and trying to lay out a network plan.

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by erik » Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:19 pm

Where are the recordings stored and where will you run comskip (which CPU, local to the drives, that is on the file server, or remote).
Comskip will read once sequential the entire recording for analysis. The other file IO done by comskip can be ignored compared to reading the recording.
Comskip is normally either IO limited (can't read the recording faster) or CPU limited
Running one or multiple comskip in parallel can make a huge difference as the additional head movement of having two or more recordings read in parallel can kill the read speed of a single disk.
This is because comskip does not read with big buffers so it can follow real time a recording.

abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Mon Feb 25, 2013 5:41 pm

The recordings are stored in the living room on the media center attached to the TV. I will run comskip through the MoCA network on a networked Domain core server (not a DC).. The server is just something I'll be running Comskip on, it's not a NAS or anything. The Media Center is an i2-3220 and the Core Server is i5-3570k. I doubt it matters but the Media center is running independant graphics not Integrated.

I am guessing that I'd need to put the HDHR Prime in the living room rather than on the MoCA network to give the most amount of available throughput for ComSkip to run.

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by erik » Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:06 pm

How will you be recording?
h.264 or mpeg2 video?

abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:58 pm

I believe cable is mpeg-2 on FiOS using Windows Media Center

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by erik » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:07 pm

For mpeg2 the CPU will never be the bottleneck.
I guess even the i3 will be fast enough, even with 4 stream being recorded in parallel

abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:22 pm

I finally got around to setting this up on a VM Core server. It doesn't work very well with DVRMSToolbox or DirMon.

What directory monitoring tool should I use?

abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:15 am

I installed a regular server version and Dirmon2 worked fine. That was an all afternoon project! (Not to mention the deployment of a second (backup) DHCP server.)

22Mb (Not MB) ps average for 2 workers. Not congesting my network with 3 tuners in use.. Good stuff. Looks like I don't have to change my network layout afterall.

abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:11 pm

Comskip starts and it never finishes.. What's up with that?

www.tinozplace.com/Rules of Engagement_WGNHD_2013_03_03_23_59_00.zip

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by erik » Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:54 pm

Recording ...0 did finish (look at the log file)

Recording ....1 is not concluded yet (processing during the recording?) Or comskip did crash

abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:14 pm

Do not see anything like that in the log.

erik
Site Admin
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:49 pm

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by erik » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:00 pm

You included .log files in the zip file.

abuttino
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:47 am

Re: Comskip and Windows Server 2008 R2 Core Standard

Post by abuttino » Tue Mar 05, 2013 2:59 am

erik wrote:You included .log files in the zip file.
And I searched it, there was no "Recording" line on the log file.

Post Reply